Outer Banks – TV Show Review

Is 'Outer Banks' available to watch on Canadian Netflix? - New On ...

I would have to very highly recommend this fantastically gripping thriller to all. ‘Outer Banks’ is a Netflix original series, so can (obviously!) only be found on Netflix. Much like ‘Never Have I Ever’ (see Never Have I Ever – TV Show Review), it is a 2020 release and has only 1 season. However, season 2 has been confirmed and I, for one, am extremely excited as we were left on a serious cliff hanger!

John B (played by Chase Stokes), JJ (Rudy Pankow), Pope (Jonathan Daviss) and Kiara (Madison Bailey) are Pogues, they are far from wealthy and often find themselves having to beg, borrow or steal just to eat. So when the opportunity to obtain 400 million dollars comes around, they can’t say no. Following the disappearance of John B’s father, they realise that he was close to finding the lost gold of ‘The Royal Merchant’, a ship that was wrecked many years before. They decide to finish what John B’s father started and set out on a treasure hunt. However, with murder, fights and threats around every corner, it seems that getting the gold may be far more difficult than any of them realised.

This is honestly such an enjoyable show. The plotlines are insanely gripping and I couldn’t take my eyes of the screen (except when I was scared to watch!). I particularly loved the relationships between the characters, they were so realistic, and I was completely sucked into their lives. It’s even more satisfying to find out that they’re all good friends in reality so their actual chemistry truly bounces off of the screen.

The actors were extremely talented. We also meet Madison Cline as Sarah, Austin North as Topper, Drew Starkey as Rafe and Charles Esten as Ward. They fully embraced their characters, taking on their trials and tribulations as their own and I would honestly find it difficult to believe that they were any different to their actual characters (although I would seriously hope that’s the case for some of them!)

This is truly a fantastic show. The writing, production, direction, camera and acting is all incredible and I couldn’t get enough of the show. In fact, many people are saying that they’ve already watched the show twice! I can’t say I object to that decision!

Give this show a watch as I’m giving it 10/10.

Let me know what you think!

Or, if you’ve already seen it, did you enjoy it too?

Lots of love,

Dramaticaly Dramatic xx

PS. If you’re not from the USA you might not have realised that Outer Banks is actually a place!

Follow my blog with Bloglovin

Leave a comment